top of page

KWE 2021

For the 2021 edition, we have adapted the program of KWE in order to pursue our mission while respecting public health guidelines.


In 2021, KWE was held as an exhibition at Place Jean Béliveau at ExpoCité. The choice of Place Jean Béliveau was motivated by its central location and its capacity to accommodate 15,000 visitors on site while respecting the health and physical distance measures in effect because of the pandemic.


KWE had a significant digital segment. Visitors had access to a range of activities, skills videos and musical performances online to enjoy KWE as if they were there.


KWE! Meet with Indigenous Peoples has become a tradition in Quebec City and attracts visitors from all over the world, whether it be during the physical or online events like it was the case in 2021. The success of the event is based on the participation of the public in large numbers through the KWE Facebook page and the website.
 

PRESS CONFERENCE

The press conference to launch KWE 2021 program was held on June 1, 2021, and was streamed live on the KWE Facebook page.

The guests who took part in this virtual press conference were Ghislain Picard, President of KWE! Meet with Indigenous Peoples and Chief of the Assembly of First Nations Quebec-Labrador, the Grand Chief of the Huron-Wendat Nation, Rémy Vincent; Alicia Despins who represents the Executive Committee of the City of Quebec; Dave Laveau, General Manager of Tourisme Autochtone Québec, a key partner of the 2021 edition.

Annonce programmation de KWE 2021
Play Video

Opening ceremony

For this hybrid edition, only guests were invited to attend the opening ceremony due to the pandemic. The official opening of KWE 2021 took place on Monday, June 18 at 1:00 p.m. and was broadcast live on the KWE Facebook page.

Dignitaries who gave speeches included Stéphane Picard, Dr. Stanley Vollant, Geneviève Latour, Steeve Gros-Louis, Alicia Despins, Ian Lafrenière, Geneviève Guilbault and Ghislain Picard. Additional dignitaries, Sol Zanetti, MP for Jean-Lesage and Sylvain Lévesque, MP for Chauveau, also attended the ceremony.

KWE 2021

Pour l’édition 2021, nous avons adapté la programmation de KWE afin de poursuivre notre mission dans le respect des consignes de la santé publique.
 

En 2021, KWE a eu lieu sous forme d’une exposition à la place Jean-Béliveau à ExpoCité. Le choix de la place Jean-Béliveau a été motivé par son emplacement central et par sa capacité à accueillir 15 000 visiteurs sur place tout en respectant les mesures sanitaires et de distanciation physique en vigueur.


KWE a eu une portion numérique importante. Les visiteurs ont eu accès à une gamme d’activités, de capsules vidéo de savoirs-faire et des spectacles musicaux diffusées en ligne pour profiter de KWE comme s’ils y étaient.


KWE! À la rencontre des peuples autochtones est devenu une tradition à Québec et attire des visiteurs de partout que ce soit lors des événements physiques ou en ligne comme ce fut le cas en 2021. Les facteurs du succès de l'événement reposent sur la participation du public en grand nombre grâce à la page Facebook de KWE et au site Internet.

CONFÉRENCE DE PRESSE

La conférence de presse pour le lancement de la programmation KWE 2021 a eu lieu le 1er juin 2021 et a été diffusée en direct sur la page Facebook de KWE.

Les invités ayant pris part à cette conférence de presse virtuelle sont Ghislain Picard, le président de KWE! À la rencontre des peuples autochtones et Chef de l’Assemblée des Premières Nations Québec-Labrador, le Grand Chef de la Nation huronne-wendat, Rémy Vincent ; Alicia Despins qui représente le comité exécutif de la Ville de Québec ; Dave Laveau, directeur général de Tourisme Autochtone Québec, partenaire incontournable de l’édition 2021.

Annonce programmation de KWE 2021
Lire la vidéo

Cérémonie d'ouverture

Pour cette édition hybride, seuls les invités étaient conviés à assister à la cérémonie d’ouverture compte tenu de la situation de pandémie. L’ouverture officielle de KWE 2021 a eu lieu le lundi 18 juin à 13 h et a été diffusée en direct sur la page Facebook de KWE.

Les dignitaires qui ont prononcé une allocution sont Stéphane Picard, Dr Stanley Vollant, Geneviève Latour, Steeve Gros-Louis, Alicia Despins, Ian Lafrenière, Geneviève Guilbault et Ghislain Picard. Des dignitaires additionnels, Sol Zanetti, député de Jean-Lesage et Sylvain Lévesque, député de Chauveau, ont également assisté à la cérémonie.