top of page

KWE 2018

The event KWE! Meet with Indigenous Peoples aims to highlight the 11 Indigenous Nations present in Quebec through artistic and musical performances, workshops on traditional knowledge, discussions on issues affecting Indigenous communities, a cultural crossroads, a tourism space and more.


The second edition of the event took place from August 30 to September 3, 2018, at the Place de l'Assemblée-Nationale in Quebec City.


This second edition was organized by the Assembly of First Nations Quebec-Labrador in collaboration with the Huron-Wendat Nation Council, the host nation. Several other partners were involved in the organization of the activities.
 

The objectives of the event are to raise public awareness about the realities and issues of Indigenous peoples, to celebrate First Nations and Inuit cultures, to showcase the talent of Indigenous artists, to bring people together and to contribute to reconciliation.

PRESS CONFERENCE

The press conference to launch the 2017 KWE program was held on August 20, 2018, and was streamed live on the KWE Facebook page.


Guests who took part in this press conference were Ghislain Picard, President of KWE! Meet with Indigenous Peoples and Chief of the Assembly of First Nations Quebec-Labrador, the Grand Chief of the Huron-Wendat Nation, Conrad Sioui and Raymond Dion, President of the Borough of La Haute-Saint-Charles.  

Dévoilement de la programmation
Play Video

opening ceremony

An opening ceremony open to the public was held on August 30 at 5:00 p.m. to launch the event. Many dignitaries were invited to attend the ceremony and some of them gave speeches.


Traditional Wendat food was served to close the ceremony.
 

Many guests and members of the general public attended the ceremony.

KWE 2018

L'événement KWE! À la rencontre des peuples autochtones vise à mettre de l'avant les 11 Nations autochtones présentes au Québec par des prestations artistiques et musicales, des ateliers sur les savoirs traditionnels, des discussions sur les enjeux qui touchent les communautés autochtones, un carrefour culturel, un espace tourisme et plus encore.

 

La deuxième édition de l’événement a eu lieu du 30 août au 3 septembre 2018 à la place de l’Assemblée-Nationale à Québec.

Cette deuxième édition a été organisée par l’Assemblée des Premières Nations Québec-Labrador en collaboration avec le Conseil de la Nation huronne-wendat, nation hôte. Plusieurs autres partenaires ont été impliqués dans l’organisation des activités.

Les objectifs de l’événement sont de sensibiliser le grand public aux réalités et aux enjeux des peuples autochtones, de célébrer les cultures des Premières Nations et des Inuits, de faire rayonner le talent des artistes autochtones, de rapprocher les peuples ainsi que de contribuer à la réconciliation.

CONFÉRENCE DE PRESSE

La conférence de presse pour le lancement de la programmation KWE 2017 a eu lieu le 20 août 2018 et a été diffusée en direct sur la page Facebook de KWE.

Les invités ayant pris part à cette conférence de presse sont Ghislain Picard, le président de KWE! À la rencontre des peuples autochtones et Chef de l’Assemblée des Premières Nations Québec-Labrador, le Grand Chef de la Nation huronne-wendat, Conrad Sioui et Raymond Dion, président de l'Arrondissement de La Haute-Saint-Charles  

Dévoilement de la programmation
Lire la vidéo

cérémonie d'ouverture

Une cérémonie d’ouverture ouverte au public a eu lieu le 30 août à 17h afin de lancer l’événement. De nombreux dignitaires ont été invités à assister à cette cérémonie et certains d’entre eux ont prononcé une allocution.

 

Des bouchées traditionnelles à saveur wendat ont été servies afin de clôturer la cérémonie.

Plusieurs invités et membres du grand public ont assisté à la cérémonie.